## **Principals and Presidents**

| Succession  | Years Served | Name and Title                              |
|---|--------------|---|
| 1 <sup>st</sup> Principal                               | 1854-1859    | Dana Pond Colburn, Principal                |
|   | 1859-1860    | Daniel Goodwin, Provisional Principal       |
|   | 1860         | Hannah W. Goodwin, Principal Pro-Tem        |
| 2 <sup>nd</sup> Principal                               | 1860-1864    | Joshua Kendall, Principal                   |
|   | 1865         | Eleanor R. Luther, Assistant Principal      |
|   | 1865-1871    | [operations suspended]                      |
| 3 <sup>rd</sup> Principal                               | 1871-1883    | James Carruthers Greenough, Principal       |
|   | 1883-1884    | Thomas B. Stockwell, Acting Principal       |
| 4 <sup>th</sup> Principal                               | 1884-1888    | Thomas J. Morgan, Principal                 |
| 5 <sup>th</sup> Principal                               | 1889-1892    | George Abner Littlefield, Principal         |
| 6 <sup>th</sup> Principal                               | 1892-1898    | William Edward Wilson, Principal            |
| 7 <sup>th</sup> Principal                               | 1898-1901    | Fred Gowing, Principal                      |
| 8 <sup>th</sup> Principal                               | 1901-1907    | Charles Sumner Chapin, Principal            |
| 9 <sup>th</sup> Principal,<br>1 <sup>st</sup> President | 1908-1939    | John Lincoln Alger, Principal and President |
|   | 1939         | Robert Marshall Brown, Acting President     |
| 2 <sup>nd</sup> President                               | 1939-1951    | Lucius Albert Whipple, President            |
|   | 1951-1952    | Frederick Joseph Donovan, Acting President  |
| 3 <sup>rd</sup> President                               | 1952-1966    | William Clement Gaige, President            |
|   | 1966-1968    | Charles Borromeo Willard, Acting President  |
| 4 <sup>th</sup> President                               | 1968-1973    | Joseph Frank Kauffman, President            |
|   | 1973         | Charles Borromeo Willard, Acting President  |
| 5 <sup>th</sup> President                               | 1973-1977    | Charles Borromeo Willard, President         |
| 6 <sup>th</sup> President                               | 1977-1984    | David Emery Sweet, President                |
|   | 1984-1985    | John Nazarian, Acting President             |
| 7 <sup>th</sup> President                               | 1986-1989    | Carol Jean Guardo, President                |
|   | 1990         | John Nazarian, Acting President             |
| 8 <sup>th</sup> President                               | 1990-2008    | John Nazarian, President                    |
| 9 <sup>th</sup> President                               | 2008-2016    | Nancy E. Carriuolo, President               |
| 10 <sup>th</sup> President                              | 2016-        | Frank D. Sánchez, President                 |